Tienen la cara pintada de morado y amarillo

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by Spanishn00b, Jan 14, 2013.

1. Spanishn00b Junior Member

Virginia, USA
    English-United States
    I am doing Rosetta Stone and I came across this sentence:

Since I am still learning, I translated as: They have the face painted in purple and yellow. However, I came across another site with this same sentence, and their translation was: Their faces are painted purple and yellow.

If the translation comes out as plural, then why are word la cara in singular form?
  2. kayokid

kayokid Senior Member

English, USA
    Hello and welcome to the forum!

This is one of those things that you see when you study a foreign language. In English we focus on the totality/plurality of 'faces'. In Spanish each person has only one face and the Spanish speaker's mindset is focused on the singular. That is just how it is said in each language.
  3. Peterdg

Peterdg Senior Member

Dutch - Belgium
    Welcome to the forums.

The second translation is the more likely one.

The reason why "la cara" is singular, is that people only have one face. It would be different with "hands" for example:

Tienen las manos pintadas de morado y amarillo.

The mechanics of English are diferent from the Spanish.
  4. Spanishn00b Junior Member

Virginia, USA
    English-United States
    Thanks for welcoming me, you all!

I see. Well I guess my next question would be why is it "their faces" instead of "the faces"? I thought la/las/el/los were translated as "the"?
  5. kayokid

kayokid Senior Member

English, USA
    In general, with parts of the body the definite article is used (in Spanish) and we translate it with the possessive in English.
  6. KirkandRafer

KirkandRafer Senior Member

Español (Murcia, España)
    I'd also say "tienen las caras pintadas de morado y amarillo" conveying the same sense. None of those sounds stilted to me.
  7. Peterdg

Peterdg Senior Member