1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

to drive truck / to drive cab

Discussion in 'English Only' started by GrandBlank, Sep 6, 2006.

1. GrandBlank Junior Member

English/U.S.
    Hi, I'm a native speaker of (Am.) English, with a question of no great import. :)

I'm wondering if anyone has heard of these expressions used:

• I've been driving truck for ten years. (as opposed to driving a truck)
    • I used to drive cab. (vs. to drive a cab)
    And I will be very impressed if a truckdriver/cabbie answers this one! ;)

2. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    EEUU-inglés
    Greetings GrandBlank,
    This AE native has never heard those particular expressions. I have driven a truck, and driven trucks, but never driven truck.

3. Moogey Senior Member

New Jersey, USA
    USA English
    Hi GrandBlank,

I am a native as well and I've never heard either of these. It sounds like it would be produced by a non-native ;)

-M

4. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    EEUU-inglés
    We do have many parallel usages: I've been running track for many years, for example.

5. JamesM

JamesM à la Mod

I've worked off and on in the freight industry for many years, and I can confirm that "drive truck" is a common way for a trucker to describe his job, at least here in California. If you ask a trucker, "What do you do for a living?", the most common answer will be, "I drive truck", not "I'm a truck driver."

Sorry, I can't say anything about cabs. I honestly don't know.

6. GrandBlank Junior Member

English/U.S.
    Thanks everybody! --especially JamesM! I've heard it spoken (just once in my life that I can remember), but I thought I wasn't hearing it right. I did suppose that it would be industry jargon(?). And, indeed, I'm very impressed to hear from the truckdrivers --- all regulars at WordReference.com!

7. JamesM

JamesM à la Mod