To top the charts (not in a musical sense)

Discussion in 'Italian-English' started by redbobrox89, Apr 27, 2012.

1. redbobrox89 Junior Member

English
    Hi guys,

I'm trying to say the following:

Now, Italian users top the charts for hours of usage...

Adesso, gli utenti italiani sono al massimo...?

I can't seem to find a way to say it without it being in a musical sense.

Any help would be appreciated!

2. Pat (√2)

Pat (√2) Senior Member

Italia
    Italiano
    Ciao :)

Potresti scrivere la frase completa? Da dove è tratta la frase?

3. longplay Senior Member

italian
    A occhio, direi sono "in cima ai grafici" per le ore di utilizzo .... dei "cellulari" (just a guess)....

4. Pat (√2)

Pat (√2) Senior Member

Italia
    Italiano
    Credo che i grafici non c'entrino nulla, LP. Si parla di essere in testa alla classifica. Con più informazioni si può dare una traduzione più appropriata.

5. 95miyu

95miyu New Member

italy
    italian
    "sono in testa (on top) alle classifiche (of the charts) " for example of a chart of a research.
    Now, Italian users top the charts for hours of usage...
    ora gli utenti italiani raggiungono/sono in testa alle classifiche per le ore di utilizzo

6. longplay Senior Member

italian
    D' accordo.Era un guess. Mai trovato "charting" nel senso di disegnare un grafico, degli istogrammi ecc. ? Se uno arriva "top the chart", vuol dire che sta al punto massimo,
    mi sembra... :);).

7. 95miyu

95miyu New Member

italy
    italian
    "charts" means "classifiche", not only music charts but also graphs... as you said. so "top of the charts" is "in testa alle classifiche", all kind of charts. maybe the one you're talking about is a research and its results (put in a chart)

8. Pat (√2)

Pat (√2) Senior Member

Italia
    Italiano
    Scusate, ma qui l'espressione è to top the charts = essere in testa alle classifiche.

9. LIFEATER72 Senior Member

Napoli - Italy
    Italian - Italy
    Parafrasando si potrebbe dire: