1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Tonic Syllable

Discussion in 'English Only' started by bobine, Feb 6, 2008.

1. bobine New Member

Pau
    France
    Hello,
    I'm an English student and I have some problems in finding the tonic syllable.

When I listen to the sentences there are many words that seem to be stressed and I don't know how to find the one that has the tonic syllable.

For instance : "I haven't seen you around for a couple of weeks."

I was going to underline "seen" because I thought it had the tonic syllable but when I listen to the tape, it seems to me that "couple" is even more stressed.

Thanks for you help

2. se16teddy

se16teddy Senior Member

London
    English - England
    I would put the main stress on have, round and weeks, and maybe a secondary stress on seen and coup. Le and of may be elided into a single syllable, as may you and a.

I am sure different people do it in different ways, though.

3. bobine New Member

Pau
    France
    Thank you se16teddy,

My teacher says that there is only a tonic syllable. According to her, it is on the word that carries the main intonation movement.

I think in your main stressed syllables you have the prominent and the tonic(nuclear). Is it right?

It is not very easy to find out (for me in particular)

4. nzfauna

nzfauna Senior Member

Wellington, New Zealand
    New Zealand, English
    It depends on the context as to which word a person might choose to emphasise in any sentence.

5. se16teddy

se16teddy Senior Member

London
    English - England
    NZfauna is of course right. It depends which word is most important in the given context.

Having said that, without context I guess that the syllable most likely to bear most stress is weeks, with have perhaps in second position. Couple is possible, implying perhaps It isn't very long since I last saw you. Stressing seen would imply something like I haven't seen you but I have heard you.

6. ewie