touloumbache

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by Xigua, Oct 26, 2013.

1. Xigua Senior Member

Canada
    English - British
    This is my first time on the Russian forum, so I thank you in advance for your time! I am trying to translate the following Russian words into English. They appear in a text written in French, so the spelling may be a little odd; I also think they have Caucasian antecedents, so they may not be 'classical' Russian.

Here they are, with, in parentheses, the sense I gather from the text. But I should very much appreciate a more accurate translation:

touloumbache (master of the feast/ revels? master of ceremonies?)

Many thanks for any help you can provide!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2013
  2. ahvalj

ahvalj Senior Member

touloumbache = тамада?

3. Maroseika Moderator

Moscow
    Russian
    I found in the dictionary of Ushakov:
    Тулумбас - Председатель пиршества, попойки (шут.). Obviously it is really connected with the name of the musical instrument.

4. igusarov

igusarov Senior Member

Moscow, Russia
    Russian
    To answer the original question: none of these words are Russian.

However, the word "тулунгуши" is mentioned in this book about the Georgians: http://az.lib.ru/c/charskaja_l_a/text_0005.shtml, and there's a footnote telling that it means "the head person of the feast".

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 26, 2013
  5. marco_2 Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    I can add that in Polish tołumbas was a big drum (tamburo grande).

6. Xigua Senior Member

Canada
    English - British
    Thanks to you all for your above replies. I neither speak nor read Russian, beyond various words of historical significance. It was for that reason that I turned to this forum, since the words I now need to research are not found in any of my dictionaries.

7. Nanon

Nanon Senior Member

Entre Paris et Lisbonne
    français (France)