1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

...tren va recorrir [recórrer]

Discussion in 'Català (Catalan)' started by papillon, May 9, 2007.

1. papillon Senior Member

Barcelona, Spain
    Russian (Ukraine)
    va + infinitive
    As a beginner, I am interested in the use of this form of the preterite.

In the information I've been reading I'm told that this form is rather reserved for oral speech. Yet, trying to read a local newspaper this morning (Barcelona area) I found multiple instances of this tense.

So my questions are: is this a perfectly acceptable verb form? Would it be used in other places, like Valencia and Balearic islands?

Thank you for your replies!

2. louhevly

louhevly Senior Member

Manresa
    English USA
    It's a perfectly acceptable verb form in both oral and written Catalan. Many stylists recommend that, in written Catalan, it be alternated with the simple preterite (pretèrit perfet).

Va entrar al bar i prengué una cervesa.

3. papillon Senior Member

Barcelona, Spain
    Russian (Ukraine)
    Thanks, louhevly, I like your example!

I still would like to know if this is an accepted form in other reagions, s.a. Valencia.
    Thanks

4. betulina una mod a Baetulo

al bressol del basquetbol
    català - Catalunya
    Hi, Papillon,

It is accepted everywhere, although in some places of Valencia they don't really use it but the simple preterite. Wait for our Valencian colleagues to tell you. :)

On the other hand, I agree with Lou, but it is also true that you can write without ever use the simple preterite (therefore, using always the perifrastic form "va + infinitive"). As he said, it's just a matter of style.
    In some dialects, though, the simple preterite is considered very formal or literary, that's why you didn't find it in newspapers. You might find it in literature, depending on the author.

5. Mei

Mei Senior Member

Where streets have no name...
    Catalonia Catalan & Spanish
    Hi there,