1. Joe Tamargo Senior Member

New York, NY, USA
    United States English
    This is a hard one: (Esta es una pregunta dura:)

What is the difference between a tortoise and a turtle? (¿Cuál es la diferencia entre las palabras turtle y tortoise?)

What is the difference between tortuga, galápago and carey? (¿Cuál es la diferencia entre las palabras tortuga, galápago y carey?)

I always thought that a tortoise lived in the sea and a turtle on land, but now I don't know. Are they all interchangeable? (Siempre creía yo que un tortoise viviera en el mar, y un turtle en la tierra, pero ahora yo no sé. ¿Son todas intercambiables?)
    Could some sea turtle out there explain it to me and correct my Spanish?
  2. Magg Senior Member

Spain / Spanish
    Well, I'm not a pro on the subject, but I'd say it's the opposite, turtles live near the water.

Hope an animal lover helps you. I'm not completely sure.

3. Edwin

Edwin Senior Member

Tampa, Florida, USA
    USA / Native Language: English
    Parece que Magg tiene razón:

According to the following websites turtles are aquatic and tortoises are land-dwelling. (That's why the story is about the tortoise and the hare and not the turtle and the hare. :) )

4. Artrella Banned

turtle an animal which lives in or near water and has a thick shell covering its body into which it can move its head and legs for protection

tortoise an animal with a thick, hard shell that it can move its head and legs into for protection. It eats plants, moves very slowly and sleeps during the winter.

Bye Joe!!!

Art :) ;) :p
  5. Philippa

Philippa Senior Member

Britain - English
    Carey seems to be a the name for a Hawksbill turtle (my favourite as we saw a hundred babies that had recently hatched in Barbados :) ) see:

Galápago seems to be a freshwater turtle with webbed or partly webbed feet - see 4. TORTUGAS DE AGUA DULCE (GALÁPAGOS) in:
    Tortuga seems to be the generic term.