1. Yaya Senior Member

San Diego, CA
    USA, English
    Hi, what are the different ways of saying "undergraduate", as in I would like to enroll in undergraduate classes; and, I'm an undergraduate student.

Also, how would you say graduate and post-graduate?

thanks!

2. lauranazario

lauranazario Moderatrix

Puerto Rico
    Puerto Rico/Español & English
    Hi Yaya,

"Undergraduate"... it all depends on where you are.
    For example, if you are talking about the US+PR education system, "undergraduate" courses are those conducive to your college/university-level Bachelor's (bachillerato) degree. Attending "Graduate school" is considered working towards your Master's (Maestría) or PhD (Doctorado) degrees.

Saludos,
    LN

3. sergio11 Senior Member

Los Angeles and Buenos Aires
    Spanish (lunfardo)
    I have heard "subgrado," "grado" and "posgrado," but subgrado is not in the dictionary of the Real Academia Española. Besides, since the education system is different in Spanish speaking countries, they will not understand what you are talking about.

Undergraduate studies: "Estudios de subgrado" is a way of saying it, with the caveat explained above (off dictionary word), but I don't know whether it will fly. People will wonder what you are talking about. And since in most countries there is no good equivalent to it, I am not sure of the words to use. Perhaps you should explain it with a short (short?) paragraph.

Graduate studies: "grado" is not a good word to use here, because people will be bewildered by the word. Although it does means "degree," normally it would be interpreted as "grade." I would say in a more descriptive way, that they are studies for a master degree, that is, "estudios para la licenciatura" --licenciatura is the master degree.

Postgraduate studies: estudios de posgrado --this one is more straightforward and universally understood.

4. Maeron Senior Member

Mexico City
    Canada, English