1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Understanding the Verb Form IV

Discussion in 'العربية (Arabic)' started by إبن آدم, Feb 7, 2013.

1. إبن آدم New Member

UK
    English
    Hello all. I have been a long time lurker on these boards and decided to register I have so many questions of my own. I am currently studying Arabic at university and I am in my second year. Due to studying another subject alongside Arabic, it isn't as good as it should be.

Anyway, I am having difficultly in understanding the fourth verb form أفعل. For example, if I had the verb كمل, it means 'he completed'. By adding تُ to the end, it becomes 'I completed'. My prefixing an أ to the root letters, one gets أكمل. This is where I start to get a bit lost. What is the difference between saying أكمل and كملتُ or even ُأكملت?

2. cherine

cherine Moderator

Alexandria, Egypt
    Arabic (Egypt).
    Welcome to the forum :)

Until someone more knowledgable comes, here's a start:
    First, you need to be precise when comparing related or non-related words. The subject of أكمل is (he), while that of كملتُ and أكملتُ is (I).
    So, let's compare between kamultu and akmaltu:
    كملتُ (though this isn't really something one would say) means: I became complete
    أكملتُ means: I completed.

Another verb:
    وَضَح الأمرُ it became clear
    أوضحَ الرجلُ الأمرَ the man made it clear

And another:
    خَرَجْتُ I went out
    أخرجتُ القطةَ I sent the cat ou

Here's a previous thread about verb forms. Check it and search the forum, I'm sure you'll find more useful information around.

3. dkarjala Senior Member

English - America
    اهلا وسهلا يا ابن آدم!

Arabic, like all Semitic languages, is composed mainly of three-letter roots with semantic connotations. The basic form of the verb in the past tense consists of just those three root letters and specific vowel patterns and means "he did x" whatever x is.