1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

upper second class honours degree (2:1)

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by Lisa59, Jun 18, 2008.

1. Lisa59 New Member

French
    Hello everybody,

I am a French student and I have been graduated with a 2:1 honours degree. However, I don't really know how to translate "upper second class honours degree".
    I have seen in some web site that it can be translated by "mention bien" but I am not quite sure.

Your help is more than welcome.
    Many thanks in advance

Best regards

Lisa;-)

2. gillyfr Senior Member

Montreal, Canada
    English - England
    Hi Lisa, I translate mine as "mention bien".

3. Lisa59 New Member

French
    Hey gilly:)

Thank you so much for your reply! I think you are right, I'ev done some researches and 2:1 upper second honours degree was mostly translated into "mention bien".

Any other suggestions?
    Many thanks in advance
    Best regards
    Lisa

4. gillyfr Senior Member

Montreal, Canada
    English - England
    One other suggestion, don't translate it as "licence" - a "licence" is not worth much in France. Use "maîtrise" instead.

5. Lisa59 New Member

French
    Cheers mate!:)

Alright, I didn't know that the equivalent of an upper second class honours degree was a "maîtrise"..That's interesting!
    So according to you, I have two options left?
    Either Mention bien or maitrise?

6. Gwan Senior Member

Indre et Loire, France
    New Zealand, English
    Wouldn't it be maîtrise, mention bien? (This is a guess - based on the type of degree and the marks you received being two separate things.)

7. bubbs64 Senior Member

France
    UK, English
    I always thought a "maîtrise" was the equivalent of a UK master's degree, implying one or more year's study after the bachelor's degree or "licence".
    That's what I was told at university, anyway...

8. Gwan Senior Member

Indre et Loire, France