Usage and pronunciation of 'הסקה'

Discussion in 'עברית (Hebrew)' started by refiZ, Mar 6, 2014.

1. refiZ Junior Member

English, Spanish (Peru)
    So I am reading this sentence from the following Wikipedia article. [רשת_בייסיאנית]

' רשת בייסיאנית היא מודל סטטיסטי המאפשר הסקה של הסתברויות מותנות.'

Is my understanding correct? I think it means,

'A Bayesian network is a statistical model that makes possible conclusions from conditional probability'.

'המאפשר' seems to be describing the 'רשת'. What is the role of 'הסקה' ?

Thanks everyone for the help today!
  2. arielipi Senior Member

I wonder how you got there, in any case im a Computer Science student, so i could help you with stuff related to that (which the common person wouldnt)
    anyhow - you are almost correct,
    A bayesian... that provides (a way of getting/giving) conclusions from...
    הסקה is to conclude, and it is attached to the model; רשת בייסיאנית is a name.
    המאפשר is "that provides (a way of getting/giving)" and is attached to model as well.
    רשת fyi is feminine.
  3. arbelyoni Senior Member

Your translation is good, but it would be more accurate to translate: "... that allows the concluding of conditional probabilities".

המאפשר ("that enables", "that allows") refers to מודל סטטיסטי
    הַסָּקָה ("concluding", gerund of הִסִּיק, pronounced: hasaka) is the thing that the statistical model allows.
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  4. arielipi Senior Member

arbelyoni, you are correct, your translation is more accurate than mine (and actually mine is wrong, i didnt read carefully)
  5. refiZ Junior Member

English, Spanish (Peru)
    Thank you both. I thought it was 'heskah' so it cleared up the confusion.

I read topics on Wikipedia on subjects that interest me and I already know well.

I hope that the next time I go to Israel that I can make my presentations in Hebrew, using Hebrew words even when people commonly use the English ones!
  6. arielipi Senior Member