1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

use of gerund

Discussion in 'Português (Portuguese)' started by erick, Apr 19, 2009.

1. erick Senior Member

Los Angeles, California
    California, English
    In response to my use of the progressive (gerúndio) in Portuguese, a Brazilian said to me:
    "Lembre-se nunca use o gerúndio em português, é feio."

I don't believe it ... how else can you express the "progressive" (verb-ing)? And why would the gerundio exist if one is not meant to use it?

The indicative does not have the same meaning as the progressive.

I found a discussion on it here on WR but it's entirely in Portuguese and as a beginner I'm not seeing the sense/nuance of when to use it or not.

And what alternative should I use instead? How would you suggest a beginner of Portuguese to approach this?

Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  2. Dom Casmurro

Dom Casmurro Senior Member

Brazil Portuguese
    I guess your Brazilian acquaintance was trying to draw your attention to a usage of the gerúndio that happens to be bad Portuguese. What he probably had in mind is the way people use gerúndio in situations where a simple present or future tense would do the trick. For example: a receptionist gets a phone call and tells the person on the other end that the call will be transferred to the department in charge. He/she says: "Vou estar transferindo a sua chamada", instead of the much more straightforward way of saying the same thing: "Vou transferir a sua chamada".

3. Benvindo Senior Member

Brazil, Portuguese