1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Use of instrumental for

Discussion in 'Polski (Polish)' started by Lorenc, Oct 13, 2012.

1. Lorenc Junior Member

Italian
    All the modern Polish grammars I know say that in sentences of the type: I am a doctor, professor... (profession) or I am Polish, Italian... (nationality) one should the instrumental case (Jestem doktorem, professorem, Polakiem, Włochem...). On the other hand the nominative is used when declaring one's identity (Jestem Michał, jestem profesor Kowalski) or when using adjectives (jestem szczęśliwy).
    I have found an interesting passage about such use of the instrumental in this very old grammar
    Antoni Małecki, Gramatyka historyczno-porownawcza jezyka polskiego, Tom II (Lwów, 1879)
    http://www.archive.org/stream/gramatykahistor00magoog#page/n7/mode/2up
    pag. 425

Podobnie więc i rzeczowne orzeczenie kładzie się w dobrej polszczyźnie, w wyżéj określonych granicach, to jest będąc orzeczeniem właściwym, zawsze tylko w pierwszym przypadku. Na przykład, nikt nie powie inaczéj, jak tylko: Jestem Antoni, jestem Jan, Michał; jestem Lelewel, jestem książę Poniatowski; jestem hrabia, jestem literat, profesor, generał, mieszczanin, chłop, jestem szlachcic; jestem Polak, jestem Żyd. Ja nie Żyd, żebym się z tobą targował; ja król w tym narodzie jestem; ja tu rządzę, ja tu pan — ałbo ja tu pani!
    — "Czego Pan chcesz, na co tu wchodzisz?" zagaduje chory wchodzącego do jego pokoju nieznajomego — a ten mu na to: „Jestem doktor".

I would like to know how this old usage, in particular "Jestem Polak", sounds to modern ears: old-fashioned but conceivable or just plain wrong?
    Also, I would like to know how sentences similar to the example from the grammar book can be formulated; for example: Hello? It's the postman here, can I come in?

Thanks!
    L.

2. LilianaB Senior Member

US New York
    Lithuanian