Use of the article "the" before an acronym

Discussion in 'English Only' started by gardenia1973, May 27, 2009.

1. gardenia1973 New Member

Is it necessary to use "the" before an acronym? For example, in a sentence, you would write "...... at the University of Western Australia". Would that become "at the UWA" if you choose to use an acronym instead? Doesn't sound right but I'm open to views! Many thanks!
  2. HalloweenHJB

HalloweenHJB Senior Member

Indianapolis, Indiana
    American English, Midwest USA
    In American English, with university names, we tend to omit the article. "I am a student at U of I [University of Illinois]" or "I graduated from UVA [The University of Virginia]".
  3. gardenia1973 New Member

Many thanks for your input. What if it's not a university, say a quasi-government body that is often referred to by its acronym? For example:

This product may not be compatible with (the) FDA standards.
    This proposal will have the support of (the) FDA.

Seems to vary depending on context and usage, right?
  4. JamesM

JamesM à la Mod

Yes, it does. I don't know if there is a particular rule, gardenia1973. It is a difficult matter for non-natives, I imagine. We native speakers seem to pick it up through osmosis.

Your first sentence, for me, would always be "FDA standards" and the second would be "the FDA". For those particular examples I think it's related to the fact that FDA standards is a noun phrase (or you could say that FDA is an adjective modifying standards) in the first sentence while it acts as a noun in the second sentence, but that doesn't hold true in all examples.

UCLA stands for the University of California at Los Angeles. I would say "not compatible with UCLA requirements" but I would also say "will have the support of UCLA". I would not add "the" in front of UCLA. I have no explanation for the difference, unfortunately.

We have some very experienced participants here. One of them may have a suggestion or an insight.