1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

vörös bor / vörösbor

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by Sowka, Jul 29, 2013.

1. Sowka

Sowka Forera und Moderatorin

Hannover
    German, Northern Germany
    Szia :)

I'm an absolute beginner in Hungarian (this is my sixth day of learning...).

My Assimil textbook translates "vörös bor" as "red wine" (and the two guests in the restaurant in my textbook dialog order a liter of the substance!).
    My Langenscheidt dictionary German-Hungarian, however, gives "vörösbor" for "red wine".

Initially I thought that these were simply two ways of spelling the same thing, but then I found a difference in the Sztaki dictionary:

vörös bor - port
    vörösbor - red wine

How do you use these words? Would you also make this distinction?

Köszönöm szépen. Minden jót. :)

2. Olivier0 Senior Member

Toulouse
    français - France
    There is no distinction and both can be found, maybe wrongly if it is the general idea of vörösbor "red wine".
    This can better be explained with fehérbor "white wine": such wine is not really white and it can be a bit yellow for instance, so "white wine" is a general name and not the product (wine) + a colour which would be fehér bor.
    In fact this is disputed, I think it is because of some new orthographical rules and Hungarian natives should be able to tell you more about this. At your level of course you do not need more than just know and accept both forms, but you may be curious.
    -- Olivier

Last edited: Jul 29, 2013
  3. Sowka

Hannover
    German, Northern Germany
    Köszönöm, Olivier :)

4. francisgranada Senior Member

Slovakia
    Hungarian