1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Verb + vala

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by Rallino, Dec 16, 2011.

1. Rallino Moderatoúrkos

Ankara
    Turkish
    Hello,

I am writing a story, ornamented with comical dialogues for which I want to use old language (to make it funnier).

What I want to say is: Is this the guy, that your Majesty was talking about?

Can I say: Ez van-e a gyerek, akiről őfelsége beszél vala?

Many thanks!

2. Ateesh6800 Senior Member

Hungary
    Hungarian
    :D

As a language teacher, I'd say basics first and stylistic details later.

As a student, I also enjoy style more than basics. :D

So:

Ez az a gyerek, akiről őfelsége beszélt vala?

The verb lenni/van is often mandatorily omitted in the present tense.

The tenses with "vala" are not something that Hungarians today can use correctly.
    Well-read people know these tenses passively from reading old texts but the details/rules of these tenses are not clear in their minds.

Accordingly, I'm not too clear about in what these three tenses differ:

beszél vala
    beszéle vala
    beszélt vala

Then again, when people use "vala" for comic or stylistic effect, they rarely aim at using the grammar of a specific era of Hungarian language development. :)

If you want to use old language, gyermek is an option (more formal).

A.

3. Rallino Moderatoúrkos

Ankara
    Turkish
    Thanks Ateesh, you saved the day! :)

As you suggested, I will go for gyermek. The older - the better is my motto!* :)

*Well, not in every context, though...

Exactly my thoughts! My students are the same :D ~ I guess I can't blame them for being curious. ;)

Anyways, thank you once more. :)

4. Olivier0 Senior Member

Toulouse
    français - France
    I once found this good summary of different views about the real use in old texts.
    Basically, there was a system of 2 non-compound tenses and 2 compound tenses with vala, eg. for the verb ad "give":