você versus tu

Discussion in 'Português (Portuguese)' started by pajarita, Aug 18, 2005.

1. Ola a tudos. When is it proper to address someone as "voce" and when "tu"? I studied a similar linguistic phenomenon in Spanish and found that "vos" is used widely throughout Central and South America as the second person singular (informal "you"), whereas it is very rarely used in Spain where "tu" is the preferred form. Am I right in thinking that "voce" is more prevalent in Brazil than in Portugal?

Obrigada!
    Pajarita

2. Vanda

Vanda Moderesa de Beagá

Belo Horizonte, BRASIL
    Português/ Brasil
    Olá Pajarita,

Tu (2nd person) is preferably used in 2 Brazilian states ( Rio de Janeiro and
    Rio Grande do Sul). In the other states we prefer to use você (2nd person).
    And yes, it's widely used , we are kind of more informal nowadays. Only in very formal situations or with older people we use Senhor (Sir) for men and Senhora
    (madam) for woman.

Às suas ordens!

3. Obrigada, Vanda. Listening to my Central American friends (mostly Salvadorans), I found that the speaker seems to use "vos" with people older than him/herself and with those he/she doesn't know very well. "Tu" is used with siblings and good friends. They also use "usted" with persons of authority and in formal situations. I learned that "vos" was used by the Spaniards when they invaded Central/South America and it has remained in use there, though it has fallen out of favor in Spain. In Brazil (other than Rio de Janeiro and Rio Grande do Sul) is "voce" used with siblings and close friends too? How about in Portugal?
    Ate logo,
    Pajarita

4. Leandro

Leandro Senior Member

Rio de Janeiro
    Brazil - Portuguese
    Hi Vanda, i must say that here in Rio de Janeiro we use "você" quite always. "Tu" is mostly used by people from "Rio Grande do Sul". Here in Rio we also use "tu", but it's rare, and when we used it, we don't use the right conjugation of the verb.

The correct is: