Vowel markers

Discussion in 'العربية (Arabic)' started by rudi, Jun 28, 2006.

1. rudi Junior Member

Florida
    English
    I have recently began to study Arabic as an adult after spending 3 years in Egypt as a child (and learning only the basics.....what a shame!!)

I am sure this question has been asked before in this forum regarding vowel markers.

My perferred method of learning a language is to read real material in the target language I am studying with a dictionary nearby for help. This strategy has served me well with German, Spanish, and Portuguese however I am at a loss for how I can make this work with Arabic. I am familiar with the sounds of the letters however because the majority of reading material online does not contain vowel markers I am not sure how to pronounce the words.

What is the recommended method for overcoming this problem? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Rudi

2. MarcB Senior Member

US English
  3. Anatoli Senior Member

Melbourne, Australia
    Native: русский (Russian), home country: English
    Hi Rudi, I am a beginner in Arabic but this problem is similar to languages, which are not completely phonetical like Chinese or Japanese. There is no quick fix. I would build my confidence with textbooks, trying to also memorise how to read words without vowel markers and what grammatical endings (or sometimes even middle vowels) could be depending on the situation. For words without clear pronunciation you would need to learn how to use dictionaries based on root consonants (usually -99%? 3 consonants). The consonants or long vowels, which are NOT part of the root are the variations, which could be added to the front, end or in the middle.