Vreau să învăț?

Discussion in 'Română (Romanian)' started by adamste81, Mar 9, 2013.

1. adamste81 Junior Member

I am VERY new to the Romanian language. I am almost fluent in Spanish and can hold my own in a Portuguese conversation but I don't know much Romanian and I am very interested in it. Anyhow, I wrote to a Romanian friend of mine "vreau a învăţa română" and he told me it should be "vreau s
    ă învăţ română".

Can someone explain why it is "s
    ă învăţ" and not the infinitive of "a învăţa". I am used to Spanish "Quiero aprender" or Portuguese "Quero aprender" but after the word want is the verb not in it's regular un-conjugated form?

2. farscape mod-errare humanum est

Ottawa, Canada
    Welcome to the Word Reference Romanian Forum, adamste81 :)

I hope you'll find the time to read the rules of the forum in the sticky on the first page and thus you'll enjoy your visit here. There's also a comprehensive list of on-line resources ready for you to peruse.

Feel free to ask questions, making sure there's only one topic per thread and the context of the question is specific and well defined. We strongly encourage you to use the diacritical marks (you seem to know how :) )- see the details in the sticky.

As for your first question, perhaps we can help you to rephrase it - it may be hard to explain why one language doesn't have the same grammar as another language ;).

Take a look at chapter 4, The Verb, in Dana Cojocaru's "Romanian Grammar" listed in the References: it should give you a good understanding of the subjunctive (conjunctiv, in Romanian), although it may not explain why it's not like in Spanish or English or French. (Honestly I'm not sure why it should be... ).

Good luck and have fun, and don't forget to be specific in your questions :)

3. ectuohy Junior Member

NJ, USA
    North Jersey English (rhotic)