weil vs. denn

Discussion in 'Deutsch (German)' started by Leri, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Leri Senior Member

Siena - Italia
    Good afternoon,
    as a highschool student, I had been told that the answer to a "warum"-question is introduced by "weil".

For example:

Warum gehst du in die Apotheke?
    Ich gehe in die Apotheke, weil ich Halstabletten brauche.

Yesterday I was helping my young niece to do her homeworks, and she told me that the right answer is introduced by "denn".
    I was a little disappointed. I know "denn" can be used to explain a cause, but I had always thought it couldn't be used in an answer to a "warum-question".

Could someone help me solving this dilemma?
    I searched for a related thread but wasn't able to find it.

Thank you
  2. Gernot Back

Gernot Back Senior Member

Cologne, Germany
    German - Germany
    Both weil and denn are conjunctions expressing a cause/reason. So it doesn't really make a difference in meaning whether you use weil or denn. The only difference is a syntactic one: With weil you form a sub-clause with the finite verb in the end position and with denn you form a main clause with denn in zero-position and the finite verb in the second position:

Ich gehe in die Apotheke, weil ich Halstabletten brauche. = Ich gehe in die Apotheke, denn ich brauche Halstabletten.
  3. Leri Senior Member

Siena - Italia
    Thank you Gernot.

Then, if I ask "Warum gehst du in die Apotheke?", I do not have to correct my niece's answer "Denn ich brauche Halstabletten." Is that right?
  4. Bahiano

Bahiano Senior Member

No, Leri!
    The answer to "Warum..?" is always "Weil..." --> "Weil ich Halstabletten brauche."
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  5. Leri Senior Member

Siena - Italia
    Ok, now it's clear to me! What I learned at school is correct then.
    Thank you, Bahiano!
  6. Resa Reader Senior Member