Welsh: sai

Discussion in 'Other Languages' started by Gavril, Oct 26, 2012.

1. Gavril Senior Member

English, USA
    P'nhawn da,

I've heard the form sai used in several contexts where it seems to mean "I'm not".

For example,

Sai'n edrych arnot ti. "I'm not looking at you."

I was never taught sai when I studied Welsh, so my guess is that it's a regional form or a contraction of an older, longer verb form -- but if so, what older form does sai come from?

Also, is it true that sai means "I'm not", or is its meaning broader than this?

2. seitt Senior Member

I'm going to have to pass on that one, I'm afraid.

I don't want to rule it out completely given the abundance of dialectal forms we have in Wales, but I have completely failed to trace it anywhere, even in the excellent (but out-of-print) Caradog Welsh textbooks and Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru http://www.wales.ac.uk/dictionary/pdf/GPC0018-09.pdf.
  3. Tegs

Tegs Mód ar líne

English (Ireland), Welsh, Irish
    Bore da! Yes, this does exist, and it is used only in south Wales. Sa i is used for negatives in the first person.

Sa i'n mynd heno wedi'r cyfan - I'm not going tonight after all.

It's a contracted form of the verb "to be" - bod. As to how it came to be contracted in that form, it comes from the informal phrase 'does dim ohona i', literally 'none of me is' - an emphatic way of saying I'm not. (The un-contracted form of this phrase is never used though - it is always contracted this way.)

So, Does dim ohona i yn mynd heno contracts to Sa i'n mynd heno.

The other forms are:

You (informal) : So ti'n mynd te? - Are you not going then?
    You plural (or you singular formal): Smo chi'n mynd te? - are you not going then?

We: Smo ni'n mynd wedi'r cyfan - we aren't going after all
    They: So nhw'n mynd - they aren't going