Wish/so that: I wish I were rich so that I could buy a house.

Discussion in 'English Only' started by serarcag, Aug 3, 2008.

1. serarcag Junior Member

Mexican Spanish
    Hi, I am an ESL student and I don't know how to use "so that" in a wish sentence. I know how to do it using could, as in

"I wish I were rich so that I could buy a house"

but why if I'm not. I mean. What if I had:

"If I were a movie star, I would be rich"

and wanted to transform it into a wish...so that sentence

Would it be: I wish I were a movie star so that I would be rich
    or: I wish I were a movie star so that I were rich

In short, how do I make a sentence with "wish" and "so that" without using could.

That might be easy for native speakers who identify these mistakes just by hearing, but not for me who am just learning (don't know if I wrote that correctly, "who am just learning", did I?:))

Thanks!!!

2. cyberpedant

cyberpedant Senior Member

North Adams, MA
    English USA, Northeast, NYC
    Would it be: I wish I were a movie star so that I would be rich:cross:
    or: I wish I were a movie star so that I were rich:cross:

In short, how do I make a sentence with "wish" and "so that" without using could.

What is your objection to "could"?
    "I wish I were a movie star so that I could be rich" is the only way to say this that makes any sense to me if you insist on this form.
    "I wish I were a movie star; I'd like to be rich" works.

3. Outsider Senior Member

Portuguese (Portugal)
    I'm not sure if the second sentence works. Wait for further replies.

4. mtmjr

mtmjr Senior Member

California/Ohio (US)
    English (US)
    "I wish I were a movie star so that I could/would be rich." Using "could" implies that being is possible, "would" implies that it is probable. I see nothing wrong with the use of "could" and I prefer it in this sentence.

"...who is just learning." But, I would instead say, "...but not for me since I am just learning."

5. Matching Mole