1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Yo también te quiero

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by daveross, Dec 29, 2007.

1. daveross New Member

england english
    My Spanish friend send me this message. Please assist me as i would be very grateful.

"Yo tambien te quiero y desespero. Pienso mucho en ti Amor".

Im not good at this but i try to translate and come up with, "Me also I love you and despair. I think alot of you Darling".

2. david13

david13 Senior Member

Pittsburgh
    USA - US English
    "I love you too and despair for you. I think a lot about your love."

Of course, we English speakers do not use despair quite so freely. Desespero in this case might be better translated "I miss you oodles" but I don't know here. Could be she really is desperate. Good luck with the relationship and the best for the new year!

David

3. mexblood Senior Member

MEXICO - SPANISH
    I would say: "I love you too and I am despere for you. I think a lot about you my love".

In spanish at least in Mexico we don't usually use desesperar... but maybe she is really crazy for you! HNY!

4. daveross New Member

england english
    sorry, i should have added that she is Colombian 35 years old but she live in Spain for 9 years now

5. david13

david13 Senior Member

Pittsburgh
    USA - US English
    Yes, the use of desesperar seems unusual to me, too. You are right about the 'I think a lot about you, my love"; I hadn't noticed the capital "A" in Amor. Although, isn't the "í" in tí (meaning "you") tildada? If so, couldn't the sentence mean, "I think a lot about your love"?

6. Milton Sand

Milton Sand Modómano, 'mano

Bucaramanga, Colombia
    Español (Colombia)
    Hi!
    I think "desesperar" here means "to be impatient/distressed/hopeless/anxious".

In Colombia, it's normal to use "desesperar" that way, as an intransitive. Look:
    Desesperar = intr. To be hopeless/distressed.