¡Tú flipas en colores!

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by deselzie, Mar 13, 2007.

1. deselzie Senior Member

USA, English

I'm studying some expressions in my Spanish course, and one of them is
    ¡Tú flipas en colores! I have no real context in which to place it, so I am having some trouble as to what it means and how to use it. Could anyone help me?

2. Venezuelan_sweetie

Venezuelan_sweetie Senior Member

La Jerusalén de los Suramericanos.
    Venezuela --> Spanish -or something alik
    That sounds so funny in Latin American Spanish! It would be something like "you whistle in colors". :D

Is there any Iberic forer@ around, to clear out what that means in Spain, please?

3. asboldasbrass New Member

Spain (Spanish)
    I'd say something like: "Are you out of your mind?" It's an expression of disbelief or surprise. It's something you would say if someone told you they want to borrow a million dollars from you or that they have seen Elvis in the supermarket. ;)

4. alexacohen

alexacohen Banned

Santiago de Compostela
    Spanish. Spain
    Hi,
    You're hallucinating !
    There's no way to translate it literally!
    "Flipar" is slang for "to hallucinate". Asboldasbrass is right with the situations in which you would use it.
    Alexa

5. VFR800i

VFR800i Member

Madrid - Spain
    Spain / Spanish
    I think Alexacohen is in the right direction. It is a expresion that some tells you when you are wondering about impossible things i.e.... "if I tell you that tonight I am going out with a wonderful top model to the best restaurant in town...." you could tell me... "you are hallucinating or..." "tu flipas en colores"
    I hope it will help...

6. ivanovic77

ivanovic77 Senior Member

Barcelona
    Spanish, Catalan - Spain