его нет дома / он не дома

CycloneBill

French, Spanish (Spain), Portuguese
Hi ребята!

Between его нет дома, and он не дома, I would like to know which of the two is the correct one, and why in the first one the pronoun takes genitive/accusative form instead of nominative.

I'm still learning and I can't really understand the difference.

Спасибо большое всем вам!

• Nickle Sydney

Hello.

Both are correct and mean the same thing.
    I'd say "его нет дома".

I'm not goot at linguistics, that's why I've not answered your second question. I'm sorry for that.

Last edited:

CycloneBill

Hey, thanks!

And is there any reason that makes you choose его нет дома instead of он? Or is it just because you've always said/ heard it that way?

Sorry for so much questions lol.

ahvalj

There is a subltle difference: его нет дома considers the situation from the point of view of the house, i. e. the house is without him; in contrast, он не дома considers his location: he is not home but somewhere else.

The Genitive is mandatory with the negated form of to be: this is an areal feature of languages of the north-east of Europe (Slavic, Baltic and Baltic-Finnic, the latter use a special case, Partitive).

Ребята in Russian sounds much more colloquial than in many other languages: one should avoid this way of addressing to unfamiliar people of unknown ages.

Nickle Sydney

I don't see any difference.

- Давай пойдем к Паше.
    - Не, его нет дома / (Не, он не дома).

I didn't make it up. It's a real conversation that happened 5 minutes ago.:)

ahvalj

I don't see any difference.

- Давай пойдем к Паше.
    - Не, его нет дома / (Не, он не дома).

I didn't make it up. It's a real conversation that happened 5 minutes ago.:)
    I agree, but this is a casual talk when people do not choose words carefully. Yet, even here we may interpret both variants as emphasizing slightly different things.

henrylee100

Russian