мне нужно vs мне надо

Hi! I'd like to know the difference between мне нужно and мне надо. I know that they are quite synonyms, but there is maybe a little difference in the meaning. In this case, could you please suggest different examples or contexts? Actually I'm only a beginner but I'm very curious. Thanks in advance!

• elemika

Russian
    I adree with Andrey, but if we'd try to distinguish them,
    as to me, надо could be more impersonal and more categorical,
    and it is used more often when there is the external necessity/need.
    Нужно could be more personal, when we want to express our own needs:

Мне нужно умыться!
    Надо, надо умываться по утрам и вечерам...:)

Хватит лениться! Надо учиться ! (всем положено учиться, everybody must study, (si deve studiare))
    Мне нужно учиться, чтобы получить работу. (учеба мне нужна, I need to study, (devo studiare)...)

Эти правила надо знать. (Bсем положено знать, everybody must know these rules)
    Тебе нужно знать эти правила. ( You need to know these rules)

There are some expressions where they are not interchangeable,
    and we could try to make some search here:
    1. Так ему и надо!
    2. Нет - и не надо!

I hope, the others will help! :)

Last edited:

Andrey05

Russian
    Hi Elemika, I agree with your description, but hesitate about the examples:

Мне нужно учиться, чтобы получить работу.
    Мне надо учиться, чтобы получить работу.

So, надо is just as personal here as нужно, isn't it? Same as in:

Тебе нужно знать эти правила.
    Тебе надо знать эти правила.

Moreover,

Эти правила нужно знать!

is intended for everybody, and нужно works perfectly well in there.

To me, it's more the degree of politeness that differentiates нужно and надо, not personal vs. impersonal.

Andrey05

Russian
    Well, when you say to an unemployed person:

Работать надо!

It's rather rude, any construction with нужно will sound more polite, I think.

E.g.: Тебе (б) нужно позвонить в службу занятости.

Ptak

Rußland