DernierVirage

English - United Kingdom
I hope someone can help me with my grammar work(I am studying Putonghua on a part time basis).

I have a lot of trouble understanding the usage of the particle "le": when it must be used, when it must not be used, when it can be omitted etc. My problems are compounded by the different ways that the particle is used - completed action, continuing action, change of status...

Is there any reliable Internet source that can give me some useful rules to follow ? So far, all that I find are the same "rules" that I know, but this does not help me to apply the to real use of the language. If anyone can suggest any links or can give me any advice, I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.

• Lamb67

China/Mandarin
    I suppose you are lacking of practise, simple as that.

Bring an exercise book and please note 'le' like other linguistic things, must be learnt in a full sentence.

vincentsh

CHINESE
    “了”助词--auxiliary word
    (用在动词或形容词后, 表示动作或变化已经完成)---after verb and adj,mean the action or change is over or finished

schui

Chinese
    (in modern chinese not in classical Chinese)

“了” in syntax
    了 particle (grammatical)
    pronunciation【le】
    "了" is perfect tense
    e.g
    读了两遍
    读 v.=read
    两=two
    遍 is a measure word, approximately in here = time in repetition
    两+遍=twice
    read +了+twice = have read twice
    我(i) 读 了 两遍=I have read twice
    v.+了=have+past participle

春天来了
    春天 n.=spring
    来 v.=come
    春天来了=The spring has come

苹果红了
    苹果 n.=apple
    红 adj.=red
    苹果红了= Apple has become red ( Apple has got red)
    There's no verb in sentence.
    ellipsis

“了” in word or phrase
    pronunciation 【 liǎo】
    word :没完没了 = no end
    word: 了解=understand
    word(idiom): 了无惧色=not a bit of fear(idiom)

DernierVirage

English - United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies, Lamb67 is right, practice is the key and I do in fact keep notes to try to improve my understanding of the usage of this particle.