江 / 川 / 河

< Previous | Next >

elianecanspeak

English - EEUU
Could you give me some idea of the differences between the following characters (can I say kanji?) for river.

(I have no background in Chinese languages, but can read English, Spanish, French, and Italian, if you want to respond in those languages.)

: My understanding is that this is a swift deep river that runs through canyons, and the leftmost part of the character is the symbol for water.

: Why does this not include the water symbol?

: From what I have found, this includes the water symbol and originally referred to the Hwang Hé only, then was generalized to 1)any river or 2)broad, shallow rivers

I do not know how reliable my sources are, and I would appreciate any help you can give me about the origin and evolution of these words (do they come from different dialects?, earlier time periods?, etc)

Many thanks

Last edited:
  • viajero_canjeado

English - Southeastern USA
    Greetings, elianecanspeak!

First, the word kanji (漢字) is a Japanese term. If you're inquiring specifically about Chinese characters you should use the word Hanzi (漢字).
    From my rudimentary understanding (and after a bit of discussion with some Taiwanese classmates) I hazard to offer the following comments: