$1.135,0 million [1 billion or 1 million?] (numbers)

Cindy_bm

Portuguese-Brazil
Hi,

I am trying to understand what is the correct understanding of this amount: $1.135,0 million.
Is it 1 billion or 1 million?
Does anybody have a link or text to recommend, so I can study how to understand this?

Thank you.

• Askorti

Polish
    To me it is simply one billion, 135 million USD and 0 cents. (If you include the million you wrote after the numbers)
    If you were to put it in a full form, it would look like this: $1.135.000.000,0.
    It is written like this because normally you write a dot every three numerals starting from the end, and you separate full numbers from decimals with a comma.
    But I'm no expert nor a native, so it would be nice if someone was to confirm it.

Cenzontle

English, U.S.
    An investment fund probably manages more than $1.135 million ($1,135,000)—two or three big investors could have that much among them.
    In AE (and also in BE, I'm fairly sure), five-thousand two-hundred eighty dollars and sixty-six cents is "$5,280.66", and not "$5.280,66" as in some other languages.
    So, as JustKate said, the "." and the "," are confusing.
    If the last punctuation were ",", I would expect three digits after it; and if ".", I would expect two digits (for cents—but such precision is unlikely here).
    So the single digit after punctuation looks like a typo.

pob14

American English
    Does the original have that comma between the 5 and the 0 or is that just a little typo? I ask because it's confusing me.
    To me it is simply one billion, 135 million USD and 0 cents. (If you include the million you wrote after the numbers)
    If you were to put it in a full form, it would look like this: $1.135.000.000,0.