17.12=seventeen point twelve or seventeen point one two?

Simin93

Persian-Iran
Hi there

Could you please help me out?
How can I read my GPA(grade point average)? When I graduated from MIT university, my GPA was 17.12.

Now, I should say seventeen point twelve or seventeen point one two?

Many Thanks:)

• Uncle Jack

British English
    I don't know about "usual" (this is not a context I am familiar with), but since this is clearly an ordinary decimal number, "Seventeen point twelve" is wrong.
    "Seventeen point one two" is the only correct way to say this as a decimal number.

If it were something else, such as a section in a document, "seventeen point twelve" or "seventeen twelve" might be fine.

Last edited:

DonnyB

Sixties Mod
    English UK Southern Standard English
    I agree with Uncle Jack. :)

We don't have GPAs in the UK as far as I know, so I suspect most BE speakers would interpret it as a "normal" decimal number and say it as seventeen point one two.

boozer

Bulgarian
    How does interpreting it as a normal decimal number make any difference? I interpret it that way, too and I could still think of it as
    seventeen point one two or
    seventeen point twelve (hundredths)

Maybe I have studied mathematics in a different way, but for me saying twelve is the short of twelve hundredths and I can't see why it should be wrong. :)

Loob

English UK
    I know I'm disagreeing with boozer [:(], but seventeen point twelve is wrong in my book, too: I always read the numbers after the decimal point one by one.

boozer

Bulgarian
    Well, mathematics is the one subject we did not study in English, so... I am probably transferring my mathematical logic into English and there is some discrepancy... I can live with that.* :)

EDIT: * and it is also good to know. Thanks.

Last edited:

Egmont

English - U.S.
    ... When I graduated from MIT university, my GPA was 17.12. ...
    I am a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.