70% of <email or emails>

< Previous | Next >

virr2

Poland
What form of "email" should I use in this sentence: singular or plural? I would use singular but have doubts.

"70% of email in July was spam"

Thank you

• Illuminatus

India, Hindi, English, Marathi
    They do. We often say, I have to reply to many e-mails and so on
    But, e-mail can also be used a collective noun as in the collection of all the e-mails
    As in
    In July, 70% of the e-mail I received was spam.

Saoul

Italian
    Hi everybody,

so... a friend of mine just said: "I have a master degree in literature and writing and all I do is write email and status updates on my facebook page".

Wouldn't it be more logical to use the plural here like I would do
    if I used the word "letters", "communications" or whatever else?

Last edited:

PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    Hi everybody,

so... a friend of mine just said: "I have a master degree in literature and writing and all I do is write email and status updates on my facebook page".

Wouldn't it be more logical to use the plural here like I would do
    if I used the word "letters", "communications" or whatever else?
    Illuminatus gives the answer:
    But, e-mail can also be used a uncountable/mass noun as in the collection of all e-mails
    As in
    In July, 70% of the e-mail I received was spam.
    (Note that Illuminatus uses the term "collective noun" for 'email' but it is an "uncountable/mass noun." A "collective noun" describes a group of items, not all items: herd of cows, flock of geese, pack of dogs, etc.)

Saoul

Italian
    Thank you very much PaulQ, but I guess that doesn't really answer my question, does it? :)