a 30 per cent reduction in the excise tax otherwise due

thtoan79

Vietnamese
Hello dears,

I'm still reading a case. And as it stands, I have an obscure sentence that I need to ask for your helps :"in the following fiscal year, such producers are entitled to a 30 per cent reduction in the excise tax otherwise due on their first 200 kilolitres shipped from the factory"

I can't get what this sentence means because of the part "otherwise due on", I'm not very sure which part of the speech each of these words belong to and which meanings of theirs are being used in this sentence.

I'm in need of help. Please help.

Thank you all in advance.

• Thomas Tompion

English - England
    Hello dears,

I'm still reading a case. And as it stands, I have an obscure sentence that I need to ask for your helps :"in the following fiscal year, such producers are entitled to a 30 per cent reduction in the excise tax otherwise due on their first 200 kilolitres shipped from the factory"

I can't get what this sentence means because of the part "otherwise due on", I'm not very sure which part of the speech each of these words belong to and which meanings of theirs are being used in this sentence.

I'm in need of help. Please help.

Thank you all in advance.
    Otherwise - adverb: the tax would, in other circumstances be due on the first 200 kilolitres.

Due - adjective meaning needing to be paid.

On - preposition: the tax would in other circumstances need to be paid on the first 200 kilolitres.

So it seems to be saying that the producers are entitled in the following year to a 30% reduction on the normal excise tax on the first 200 kilolitres that they ship.

Suppose that the normal excise tax is 1000 dong a kilolitre and that they always ship 1000 kilolitres.

In year 1 - the tax due would be 1000 x 1000 = 1,000,000 dong.