A/an: SAP (acronym)

danielenglish

Banned
"India - Hindi & English"
Hi teachers,

I have been confused for a long time about usage of "an" infront of acronyms.

Actually I could not get the point clearly as I have seen the of usage "an " differs in many places particularly with acronyms.

For example :

I am a SAP consultant

I am an SAP consultant

which is correct one to use in the above.

Is there any rule to use "an" in front of acronyms.

I would appreciate your help

Thanks in advance
Daniel
( I like english)

• Transatlantic

srpskohrvatski; English
    I use the abbreviations "L1" and "L2" in my writing very often. Here, you can go both ways. Is it a L1 speaker or an L1 speaker? It really depends on whether you pronounce L1 as "el one" or "first-language". In the former case, it's an; in the latter, a.

I believe herein lieth our answer :)

SAP seems to be a true acronym, i.e. it's pronounced "ess ay pee" (right?). In this case, I'd be tempted to use an.

However, if it were an initialism (i.e. pronounced like a normal word, that is "sap"), then you'd clearly use a.

Dimcl

Canadian English
    Translantic has given you the rule of thumb, Danielenglish. If, in saying it, it begins with a vowel sound, you would use "an". If, in saying it, it begins with a consonant, you would use "a".

danielenglish

Banned
    "India - Hindi & English"
    Hi teachers,

I got the point now .Thanks for your more clear explanation.

Thanks in advance
    Daniel
    (I like english)

Mousedeerman

English - Malaysia
    <Added to this thread. Nat, Moderator>
    My sentence is like "One group of people made <insert word> SAP out of..." where SAP is superabsorbent polymer. When superabsorbent polymer gets written as "SAP", it sounds like it is pronounced as "as-ae-pee" (when people say it). That makes the term sound like its first letter is a vowel (I know it's not). Should I write the sentence as "...people made an SAP out of..." or "...people made a SAP out of..."?