"a cup of hot tea" or " a hot cup of tea"?

Japanese and Japan
Which is more natutal, #1 or #2 below?
1. a cup of hot tea
2. a hot cup of tea

I think #2 is, but I'm not sure.

• Briseide84

Italy Italian
    A hot cup of tea may sound better but it seems that the hot thing is the cup, while tea could be either hot or not.

Matching Mole

England, English
    In Britain "A [nice] hot cup of tea" is virtually a set phrase, especially when offered for "remedial" purposes: "I'll make you a nice hot cup of tea!"

Under other circumstances, I don't see anything wrong with "a cup of hot tea", though. I guess it's more descriptive than idiomatic.

Lexiphile

England English
    In my days as a lecturer, I would often pause to get myself "a hot cup of coffee." But then I would get so engrossed in my subject that I would forget to drink it and get left with "a cup of cold coffee."

Why, one wonders, does hot coffee (or tea) come in a "hot cup," while cold coffee (or tea) requires only a "cup." Perhaps it has to do with Mole's "nice." Cold coffee is a rather unpleasant substance so we need to emphasize the "cold" by putting it directly before the "coffee." How that explains making the "cup" the "hot" thing is not clear to me, but we certainly do.

Matching Mole

England, English
    Perhaps it's because in familiar phrases "cup of tea" becomes "cup-of-tea", hence "cuppa", so that hot must come before cup. However, we rarely talk of cups of cold tea and have no idiom to fall back on (not that "cold cup of tea" is impossible). When we talk about cold cups of tea (there I go!) we more often talk of "your tea/coffee is getting cold" with no reference to the cup.

iangreen

english
    And strangely we would always say 'A (nice) cup of hot chocolate'. (Perhaps to differentiate between cold, hard chocolate, and hot, melted chocolate).
    because "hot chocolate" is itself a two-word noun . one may have, in theory, a glass of cold "hot chocolate". :)