a general AI that can tackle any task

NewAmerica

Mandarin
What does "tackle any task" mean? Does it mean a general AI can tell you the meaning of life as well? It seems that the nuance of "task" needs to be known by me.

Thanks in advance
Self-taught AI is best yet at strategy game Go
<.......>
This ability to self-train without human input is a crucial step towards the dream of creating a general AI that can tackle any task. In the nearer-term, though, it could enable programs to take on scientific challenges such as protein folding or materials research, said DeepMind chief executive Demis Hassabis at a press briefing.

-nature

Source

• PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    It seems that I need to know the nuance of "task" needs to be known by me.
    "Task" is intentionally unclear.
    The meaning of life is well-known and therefore I assume that an answer can be given.

However, the writer also implies that you must also apply common sense. It is unlikely that AI will ever produce a lamppost that turns into a flying leopard on Mao's birthday.

grassy

Polish
    I take it to mean that it's intelligent, versatile and it can learn - sort of like humans, only better. Currently, we have, for example, computer programs that can beat best players in chess, but the very same programs can't even play Xs and Os.

Does it mean a general AI can tell you the meaning of life as well?
    If there were any objective meaning of life, it could.

dojibear

English - Northeast US
    What does "tackle any task" mean? Does it mean a general AI can tell you the meaning of life as well? It seems that the nuance of "task" needs to be known by me.
    No, it just means an AI that can actually think, like a human can. "Task" is a general term for any activity.