A habitual action / an habitual action

Discussion in 'English Only' started by dreamlike, Jan 16, 2014.

1. dreamlike

dreamlike Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    Hi everyone,

Given that an sound in the word 'habitual' is sounded, why is it the case that saying 'an habitual action' is "considered correct among educater speakers", as suggested by this answer on Yahoo! answers?

I'm a bit puzzled as judging by a quick Google search, 'an habitual action' seems to more common that 'a habitual action'. :rolleyes:

2. owlman5

owlman5 Senior Member

Colorado
    English-US
    Though I'm no academic star, I have a couple of degrees, dreamlike. I'd use "a habitual action". I don't think that using "an" in that phrase is any mark of superior education. Those who use "an" probably don't sound the "h" or sound it softly in their speech.

3. dreamlike

dreamlike Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    Thank you for your answer, Mr Owlman. That's not the point, though. :) I can't quite understand why it should even be possible, using 'an' before 'habitual' I mean. The sound in question -- -- is sounded in this word.

4. owlman5

owlman5 Senior Member

Colorado
    English-US
    You are writing with a lot of confidence about how people you have never met should pronounce the word. I've heard people pronounce "habitual" with a very soft "h" so that the word sounds a lot like "abitual". I don't think people who do this are wrong. Do you?

The only reason that I brought up my own education is that you saw fit to mention that Yahoo Answers said "an habitual action" was considered correct among educated speakers. If that had nothing to do with your point, why did you refer to it?

5. dreamlike

dreamlike Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    Perhaps I'm relying too heavily on dictionaries, of which none lists 'habitual' with an h-dropping.

6. dreamlike

dreamlike Senior Member

Poland
    Polish