A habitual situation with or without a pause?

< Previous | Next >

Hiden

japanese
A non-native speaker of English told me as follows:

If you say “I have studied for 3 years and now I am studying”, it means that between those 3 years and now there might have been a pause in studying. If you say “I have been studying for 3 years and still now studying”, it shows continuity.

Is it true? I think that the normal interpretation of “I have studied English and I’m still doing it”, when we assume that the situation will continue through the present moment into the future, is that a habitual situation is continuing without a break other than natural breaks which exist due to its habitual nature.

Last edited:
  • PaulQ

Banned
    UK
    English - England
    If you say “I have studied for 3 years and now I am studying”, it means that between those 3 years and now there might have been a pause in studying.
    There can be other interpretations in other contexts, but that is the commonest.
    Usually, it would be understood as “I have studied for 3 years and now I am studying again.”

I think that the normal interpretation of “I have studied English and I’m still doing it”,
    But this is (i) a different verb and (ii) you have added "English" and therefore the meaning is different for the first example. In the first example we did not know what had been studied in the past or presently.

Hiden

japanese
    Thank you for your insight, PaulQ-san. Then, which interpretation is normal for "I have studied English and I’m still doing it"?

PaulQ

Banned
    UK
    English - England
    As you say, a habitual situation is continuing without a break other than natural breaks which exist due to its habitual nature.

Hiden

japanese
    Thank you for your answer, PaulQ-san! That is a big help. You're always helpful. Again thank you. !(^^)!

Hiden

japanese