a or the: 'welcome to the Shinkansen'

Hiden

japanese
<<...>> Here is an announcement in a train. In this announcement, "the" is used twice. could it be replaced by "a"? In that case, is there any difference in meaning?

Ladies and gentleman, welcome to the Shinkansen. This is the KODAMA super express bound for Shin-osaka. We'll be stopping at all stations before arriving Shin-osaka terminal.

Hide

Last edited by a moderator:
  • entangledbank

English - South-East England
    Although there are no doubt numerous trains running on that route, we usually talk about 'the' train assigned to a particular route. We say the KODAMA super express goes to Shin-osaka ten times a day, or it leaves at ten minutes to and twenty past the hour (i.e. 9.50, 10.20, 10.50 . . .). We say it reaches Shin-osaka in two hours, and it has a dining car, and so on: always talking about it as if there is just one of them, repeatedly running.

Hiden

japanese
    Thank you for your insight. When I was a student, I learned that "a" is used to refer to new information, whereas "the" is used to refer to old information. In the example in question, does the rule work?

Last edited:

entangledbank

English - South-East England
    That's generally true, but doesn't apply here. At the moment they're just saying, in effect, 'You've successfully caught the train you intended to catch.' It would be an unpleasant surprise if the train was new information!

But contrast that with a similar announcement where the 'new information' idea is relevant. On an aeroplane you might hear something like this: 'Welcome to the Japan Airlines flight to Hong Kong. This is a Boeing 747 . . .'