a stereotype or a prototype

< Previous | Next >

magic dragon feeders

Japanese
I'd appreciate it if someone would answer my question. Thank you in advance.

A: The lion is the king of beasts.
I hear one of the functions of the definite article is to make generalizations about certain topics (e.g. lions, tulips, computers, doctors -----) One grammar book calls it a representative use, and calls "the lion" in A a stereotype, but another calls it a prototype. I'd like to know what the difference is and which is appropriate.
I myself used to use both, but I've been using the word "prototype" for about 10 years since I found it in a grammar book by Renaat Declerck.

Last edited:
  • WyomingSue

English--USA
    I would consider the lion a prototype. If you look at the WR dictionary, you will see that a "stereotype" is considered a simplified, unoriginal way of thinking, and a "prototype" is something that illustrates typical qualities.
    I guess you could argue that calling the lion the king of beasts is too simplistic and you should take a more nuanced consideration of eagles, algae, and dogs … but that seems too painful of an argument.

With a different example:
    Refugee as stereotype: "Refugees are uneducated and unemployable."
    Refugee as prototype: "After the Vietnam War, refugees from Southeast Asia had life-changing experiences, just as refugees from the Middle East have undergone since the war in Syria."
    (Apologies for history and philosophy--I was trying to come up with something on the spur of the moment.)

papakapp

English - NW US
    Hmm... Not to overcomplicate things, but if I said "the lion" to evoke the lion-ness of lions then that is an archetype.

A stereotype is a (usually pejorative) generalization.

A prototype is a first-generation example of something.

Uncle Jack

British English