Aber das wissen sie noch nicht (word order)

< Previous | Next >

loureed4

Spanish
Hello,

I am an absolute beginner in the German language. I bought a very basic book, but I am struggling!

The sentence goes like this: "Aber das wissen sie noch nicht."

I translate it like: "But she doesn't know yet"

My question is , Could I change the order?: "Aber sie wissen noch nicht das". ?

I am reading in books that the verb ('wissen' in this sentence) always has to be placed as the second idea in the sentence, therefore, my attempt would be wrong, because in it, it is the third idea: "Aber sie WISSEN...."

I am not sure though.

Thanks in advance!

• Gernot Back

German - Germany
    "Aber das wissen sie noch nicht."

I translate it like: "But she doesn't know yet":cross:
    The agreement of verb and subject in the plural tells you that the subject must be they (plural) not she (singular):
    But they don't know yet.

My question is , Could I change the order?: "Aber sie wissen noch nicht das". ?

I am reading in books that the verb ('wissen' in this sentence) always has to be placed as the second idea in the sentence, therefore, my attempt would be wrong, because in it, it is the third idea: "Aber sie WISSEN...."
    Conjunctions joining two main clauses like aber, oder, und and denn are exceptions the go to the pre-prefield of the sentence (position "zero" so to speak")

So your sentence is right. You could change the word order to
    Aber0 das1 wissen2 sie noch nicht. -> Das1 wissen2 sie aber noch nicht.

... and still in both cases the finite verb wissen would occupy the second position of the sentence.

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Felder...zes#Zus.C3.A4tzliche_Felder_in_der_Peripherie

Last edited:

loureed4

Spanish
    Thanks Gerno!

The explanation is awesome!

You made it this way: "Das wissen sie aber noch nicht."