abide by / inequation holds

< Previous | Next >

a3mlord

Português (Portugal)
For a given set of elements, should we say they they all abide by a given inequation or that a given inequation holds/holds true for all of them?

• Edinburgher

German/English bilingual
    I agree, 'abide by' doesn't work in this context, and it should be 'holds', not 'holds true'.

Actually, EB, 'inequation' sounds a bit iffy to me too, but apparently (according to Wikipedia, which is never wrong :)), 'inequality' and 'inequation' both exist, and the distinction between them is the same as that between 'equality' (a relation between two quantities) and 'equation' (a statement that the relation holds). Is that distinction artificial too?

I don't recall coming across the term either, but it does appear in my Dictionary of Mathematical Sciences (German-English and English-German) (Herland; Ungar, New York, 1951, 2nd ed 1965).

entangledbank

English - South-East England
    I'm a mathematician and I've only ever seen 'inequality', not 'inequation', for this.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inequality_(mathematics)
    It sounds like someone's trying to keep an artificial distinction.

Edit. As I have to try and fix that broken link - and I find I can't edit my previous comment, perhaps because of it - I'll amplify my statement that it's an artificial distinction. Normally, in practice, we would say that these are all equations:

1 + 3 = 4
    (x + y)^2 = x^2 + 2xy + y^2
    x = 4

and likewise these are all inequalities:
    3 < 4
    d(x, z) <= d(x, y) + d(y, z)
    x < 4
    They may be identities, theorems, or problems, but they all have the same essential form, and in practice we don't need two words for the same thing.

Last edited:

a3mlord

Português (Portugal)
    Edinburgher in Computer Science, we always say inequation.

Can you please explain in which sense if "holds" different than "holds true"? I always thought they were exactly the same.

Myridon

English - US