About Onyomi and Kunyomi

Ilhem_roori

Arabic,french,english
Hello, I started learning Japanese a few months ago but I gave up many times because of Kanji, I didn't know how I am supposed to learn them. I know that every kanji has two different readings ( On: which is the chinese way of reading it when there are more then 2 kanjis, Kun: which is the Japanese reading of the Kanji) is that right?
The question is: Are there any exceptions? if yes, are they rare or I can find many kanjis who are read in Onyumi even if they stand by themselves?
I have another question, What do you think is the best way to learn kanji? Do I have to learn the radicals by school grades or I just have to memorise the Kanji words?

Thank you! :)

• tos1

Japanese
    I know that every kanji has two different readings ( On: which is the chinese way of reading it when there are more then 2 kanjis, Kun: which is the Japanese reading of the Kanji) is that right?
    The question is: Are there any exceptions?
    Yes, We can divide Japanese kanjis into three groups;
    - Readable in both On and Kun. Each of them has at least one On-yomi and at least one Kun-yomi.
    - Readable in only On. Each of them has at least one On-yomi.
    - Readable in only Kun. Each of them has at least one Kun-yomi.
    if yes, are they rare or I can find many kanjis who are read in Onyumi even if they stand by themselves?
    I'm not sure but the only-On might be less than 500, and the only-Kun might be less than 100. Total number of Joyo kanji (常用漢字, some kind of legal kanji in Japan) is 2136.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_jōyō_kanji
    In the rightmost column of this table, On-yomi(音読み) is described with Katakana(カタカナ; アイウエオ...ン) character, and Kun-yomi(訓読み) is with Hiragana(ひらがな; あいうえお...ん). But, note that the columun shows only legal readings, just a part. For example, Yomi of No.11 嵐 is described in only Kun-yomi "Arashi" but 嵐 can also be read as "Ran" commonly.