Abroad

gentilutin

français
Hi everyone,

I am a French student at University. My last English exam included a question which seems very strange to me. The problem is my teacher refuses to give me an explanation. Could you please give me your opinion?

The question is:

Choose the right equivalent for 'abroad' in the following text:

Though some health experts here and abroad question whether overuse of the Internet or computers in general is an addiction in the strict medical sense, many agree that obsessive computer use has become a growing problem in many countries.

(full story is here: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/18/technology/18rehab.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0)

A. in the same country
B. in a different country
C. in all countries
D. everywhere

It seems to me that none of these proposals is correct since the author cannot speak about one single different country nor about all countries. What do you think?

Thanks in advance for your help!

• PaulQ

UK
    English - England
    You are correct - 'abroad' -> 'in [some] other [unspecified] countries'. Specifically, it does not mean 'in all countries/everywhere', which would include your own country and render 'here' obsolete.

pob14

American English
    I agree; "abroad" here means "in other countries," which does not fit any of the choices. (In some contexts, "abroad" can mean "in another country," but it doesn't here.)

gentilutin

français
    Thank you very much for your confirmations!

But I still have to solve my problem with my teacher.

I am a representant of students and try to defend their rights. I think this question should be considered right for every students.

But I need the opinion of some kind of English language authority. In France, we have the Académie Française. You don't have any equivalents in the United Kingdom nor the United States, unfortunately. But maybe you know someone with that kind of authority in English who could give his opinion.