Acute Accent In Russian

lluvioso1

Türkçe
Hi, I am a beginner learner. My friend, who had taken an Russian course, told me that; there is only one special accent ( like spanish acute accent "' "), which works for stressing the letters, in Russian and he also told me followings:

• In one syllabled words there is no need any acute accent. (actually being acute accentless is obligatory for those words---i.e.:век)
  • Any word that has more than one syllable needs an acute accent, unless other the unique, accented, letters are present(such as:й or ё ) i.e.: па́па; but then, I cannot see any accent on words, having more than one syllable, on many pages like wikipedia. i.e: алфавит (from this link: https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Русский_алфавит
  • Also he told me; a more-than-one-syllabled word can ONLY get one accent upon one of its letters. (including unique accented letters, too) i.e.:Русский

but again from the same wiki link: (just below the head)-- Ру́сский
  • Any of the accents only comes to vowels. (I know telling this is dummy, but bear with me)

-What I need is true evaluations of these tips from my friend. I mean, for each one please, are they TRUE or FALSE?, if FALSE; can you explain to me why?

Thank you so much in advance.

• bibax

Czech (Prague)
    The stressed syllables are marked out only in the Russian dictionaries and textbooks. In most cases the Russians need not it as Russian is their mother tongue. They know how to pronounce the Russian words. Although there can be ambiguities in some rare cases.

It is similar situation like in Latin. The ancient Romans did not mark out stress and vowel length as Latin was their mother tongue.

Drink

English - New England, Russian - Moscow
    Hi, I am a beginner learner. My friend, who had taken an Russian course, told me that; there is only one special accent ( like spanish acute accent "' "), which works for stressing the letters, in Russian and he also told me followings: