Addressing close friends

< Previous | Next >

RoseD

US - English
I'm a writer, and my current work in progress is set in Poland, circa WWII. I have a question about how a young person would address an adult who is a very close friend of the family.

I know adults would usually be addressed with the respectful forms of Pan or Pani, followed by first or last name. How might this change if the adult is a close friend? Is there a form of address that could distinguish him/her from the way other casual friends or acquaintances are addressed?

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to your answers!

• kaczucha

Poland Polish
    Hi,
    As I know there are no specific forms. 'Pan/Pani' is always ok. OR /it depends on the fact what the relations are / some 'close' people like when you call them by their first name. BE CAREFUL to use their first name only if you are not sure they like it. If your beloved auntie is possibly your manager - do not call her by her first name at the others.
    Sorry for my mistakes - feel free to correct my English.

Karla_S

US
    Polish, US-English
    Hello,
    I think that since your book is set during the time of WWII, you should be careful with young people calling adults (no matter how close) by their first names.

Rather, they would be addressed in the third person - for example, if you want a young woman to ask her uncle "did you hear what happened," she would most likely say "Czy wuj/wujek/stryjek słyszał co się stało?" (Literally, "Did uncle hear what happened?")

I'm looking forward to other ideas, but if you are writing about the 1930s and 1940s, this would most likely be the way young people would address those who are older.

kaczucha

Poland Polish
    Karla is absolutely right.
    During WWII it even could be 'Pani Matko, czy możecie mi powiedzieć?', 'Wuju, czy moglibyście mi powiedzieć? Wujno/ Wujko/ Józefowo, czy możecie / moglibyście mi powiedzieć?