Adjective order: does the age come after the shape ?

Vasco da Gama

Italiano - Italia
Hello everyone,

I'm studying the order of attributive adjectives. My English grammar book says that the age comes after the shape, so that the order is: Opinion- Size- Shape- Age- Colour- ….
But I came across the OSASHCOMP rule, which says that the order is this: Opinion - Size- Age, Shape- Colour- Origin, Material, Purpose (osashcomp - Google Search )

In this forum people suggest to take this diagram as a reference, which confirm what my English grammar book says. Any help?

• kentix

English - U.S.
    A small round old table (if we want to follow my English grammar book and the diagram above) :thumbsup:

Loob

English UK
    In the phrase without "small", I'm fairly sure I'd opt for an old round table. If I wanted to change the order, I'd make them coordinate adjectives and separate them with a comma: a round, old table.

When I add the "small", then I'm uncomfortable with cumulative adjectives whichever way round I put them
    A small old round table:thumbsdown:
    A small round old table:thumbsdown:

I'm happier with A small, round, old table or A small, old, round table.

Two words of caution:
    (1) no description of adjective order is set in concrete; such descriptions describe tendencies
    (2) context, as always, can make a difference.

entangledbank

English - South-East England
    We'd rarely put more than two adjectives before something: artificial examples generally sound strange anyway. In a description of a place, I'd say there was an old round table in one corner. Then I'm not particularly emphasizing either of them, so that's the natural order.

lingobingo

English - England