Adjective order mismatch [long blonde curly hair]

< Previous | Next >

karamazovx3

Latin-american spanish
Hello, I´m very pleased to post my first enquiry!. Well, to begin with, I am a Teacher Of English as a foreign language. I give private, in company and High School classes. As I was giving a High School class on the topic "adjective order", I found a difference of opinion about grammar in two differents books of the same publishing house, second and third year of high school. The first book (second year) tells as correct " She has a beautiful long blonde curly hair...... and the second book (third year) differs by telling " She has a beautiful long curly blonde hair" as correct. My third year students rebuked my teachings to be incorrect as they learnt from me (during the former year), that the first statement was the right one according to grammar rules...... Well, actually I agree with them! but they are in third year at present and in High School I must give the class by the book!

According to " The Royal Order of Adjectives", the phrase "she has a beautiful long curly blonde hair" would be the correct one.... By the way, in the Royal Order they mention "shape" as one of the categories whereas the book talks about "style". It is there, in the "style" column where both grammar books include "curly"..........For me, shape and style refer to the same thing within this context and should be positioned accordingly.

So please, which one is right? ..... The first statement, that sounds nicer to my ears and that certainly is printed on a grammar book to top it all!, or the second one?..... Strictly speaking, does it make any real difference to use either one in the real world?........ but AHA!!! My students are still waiting for my response........ Thanks a lot in advance for your reply

Last edited:
  • morior_invictus

Slovak
    Welcome to the forum, karamazovx3. :)