Admitted burglar learning to be a better man in prison

< Previous | Next >

wordlearn0001

china - chinese
Hi, Everybody. I'm a middle school student.
I have a question.

I actually saw this headline on the web[Pinterest] but I don't have a detail story.

-------
Admitted burglar learning to be a better man in prison.
-------

I think this headline is an odd headline. "Admitted burglar" is not an prison inmate, right? So how can he learn something in prison?

Anyway... what does this headline means?

1. He is now in prison and he is working hard to be a better person, you know, learning skills, learning to read and write in prison...

2. He is not in prison, but sooner or later, he will go to prison, he will learn something in prison.

Thank you everybody.

Last edited:
  • Thomas Tompion

English - England
    Hello Wordlearn,

The "admitted burglar" must be a prison inmate. And he must be 'working hard to be a better person', but he may well know how to read and write, though he may not yet be very kind or forgiving, or have yet learnt to respect other people's right to their property.

I suspect that this burglar is not 'admitted' in the sense that one admits people to a prison, but rather that he admits his guilt for the burglary. The adjective reads very strangely, certainly. If it means what I think it means, it should rather be 'admitting'.

Cagey

post mod (English Only / Latin)
    English - US
    We have only the headline, so we can't be sure.

But I understand it to mean that someone who admitted he is a burglar is in prison, and is learning to be a better person, as you describe in your sentence #1.