advantage mainly given by

tigerduck

German / Switzerland
Hello

I am a non-native English teacher and I also have to teach technical English.

In a writing where my students had to compare a conventional bicycle with a new racing bicycle one of my students wrote the sentence quoated below. Unfortunately, I am not sure if the sentence is right. I've read the structure advantage given by before, but I am unsure if it is correctly used in the quoted sentence:

The advantage of the new racing bicycle is mainly given by the materials.

Thank you in advance for your help.

• Hockey13

AmEnglish/German
    Hello

I am a non-native English teacher and I also have to teach technical English.

In a writing [assignment] where my students had to compare a conventional bicycle with a new racing bicycle one of my students wrote the sentence quoted below. Unfortunately, I am not sure if the sentence is right. I've read the structure advantage given by before, but I am unsure if it is correctly used in the quoted sentence:

The advantage of the new racing bicycle is mainly given by the materials.

Thank you in advance for your help.
    Personally, I wouldn't consider that wrong, but I would usually say:

The main advantage of the new racing bicycle over previous versions is its materials.

It should be noted, however, that I'm unsure what he specifically means by "the materials." Could it be the strength of the titanium, or the quality of the rubber, or could your student have possibly meant the sum of the material parts is greater than the sum of the material parts of the previous bicycles? If I was grading this paper, and if a native-speaker had written it, I would underline this section and ask him to explain in further detail instead of speak in generalities.

That said, go easy on him, it's a pretty good sentence otherwise!

GrandBlank

English/U.S.