Albanian: Mother Tersas family

MelissaVoicer

English
Hi there, I am an audiobook narrator and I'm having trouble finding resources to discover the correct pronunciation of Mother Teresa's family and some other names and places.
Dranafile (her mom)
Age (her sister).
Lazar (luh-ZAR?)
Agim (uh-GEEM?)
Clea (CLEE-uh?)
Dragoti
The county in Albania of Tepelena (tep-uh-LEEN-uh?)

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer!!

• entangledbank

English - South-East England
    You want an Italian/Spanish E sound ("eh"/"ey") for Clea and Tepelena, not the English "ee". The stress you have is about right. As far as I can tell (I'm no expert, but I hope my comments are better than nothing), the stress is final when the word ends in a consonant (Agim, Lazar as you have them), and usually on the second-last syllable when the last is a vowel: so that would apply to Dranafile, Age, Dragoti, and Tepelena.

In Albanian the unaccented letter C is pronounced "ts", so I think Clea is not likely to be a true Albanian name, and is more likely to be as if Klea than Tslea.

The sound of G is constant: it's the same in Dragoti, Agim, Age; that is, it's not affected by the vowel as in Italian or English.

Albanian has a vowel ë that often ends words. Googling seems to show that her mother's name was Dranafile, not Dranafilë, so give it the Spanish/Italian E sound. I can't be sure for Age, but I think it's a feminine ending, so use the same E there.

MelissaVoicer

English
    Thanks very much! pronouncing like Spanish helps very much! But do you think its AH-gay and.drahn-uh-FEEL-ay...or as some other Albanian words I DID find pronounciations for that end in "e": AG-geh And drahn-uh-FEEL-eh?

123xyz

Macedonian
    I will attempt to help, although you should keep in mind that my knowledge of Albanian is still rather rudimentary (i.e. take my suggestions with a grain of salt):